Friendiversary

After an early breakfast at Cracker Barrel with an old friend passing through town, Laura and I headed to Starbucks to read while waiting for the morning church service. Maybe subconsciously we were drawn there, the most appropriate place to celebrate the day.

Laura ordered our coffees and came to join me at a table in the sunlight. After a moment, she handed me a card.“Happy Friendiversary, Pal!”

I opened it and read, I love my friends and I love my family . . . And I love how sometimes I can’t tell the difference. She had written, “So here we are at Starbucks, four years later, in this life so perfect simply because we’re together.”

“Where are your sunglasses?” I asked, knowing she’d catch the reference to the night we became friends at the Starbucks in Pensacola, four years ago today.

She dug in her purse and pulled out the big, fashion glasses—her bug glasses, I call them.

“I lost my favorite pair of sunglasses that night and gained my best friend,” she said, thoughtfully. “It’s symbolic, really, because they were the mask I was hiding behind before we became friends.”

IMG_3145.JPG

We celebrate our friendiversary every year because, well, when God answers a prayer, when your life completely changes in meeting one friend, when you have as much fun as we have, it’s kind of a big deal.

It’s hard to say how four years can be enough time to weave two lives so inextricably together. Hard to tell how a friendship with so many obstacles could last even this long. But that’s a story for another day, if you’d like to hear it.

Here’s to Starbucks coffee meetings that turn into life-changing events, to enemies becoming friends, and to friends who become family.

One Reply to “Friendiversary”

Leave a Reply

